The Hastas

Standard

Bharatanatyam is a synchronized and harmonious pattern of all the bhedas (As described in the previous post “Angalakshana & Angasudhi”) done in parallel with the hand gestures and abhinaya (expression). In order to enhance the beauty of the dance movements it is quite obvious that the hand gestures always compliment the abhinaya. Hence the hand gestures become an inevitable part of the Angika Abhinaya. These hand gestures are called ‘Hastas’ . While we use these hastas while dancing we call it as ‘Mudra’.

Natyasastra has described mainly two types of hastas :

  • Asamyukta Hastas (28 Types)
  • Samyukta Hastas (24 Types)

Each of these 52 Hastas has been depicted in Natyasastra by individual slokas, explaining the individual and unique usage (called Viniyoga) of each of them.

With the help of these basic hastas, there are a few other (6) categories of hastas that have been developed and practiced. They are the following:

  • ·Deva hastas
  • ·Navagraha hastas
  • ·Dashavatara hastas
  • ·Nritta hastas
  • ·Jathi hastas
  • ·Bandu hastas

Hasta Prachahara:  It denotes the facing of the palms and are classified as below:

  • Uttana-Palm upturned or facing ceiling/skywards
  • Adhomukha-facing the floor
  • Unmukha-Palm facing oneself
  • Paran Mukha-Palm facing away from one self.

Hasta Pranalakshana:   The way a hasta / mudra is held is classified into 12 as detailed below:

  • Prasarana Hasta – The fingers are stretched
  • Kunchita Hasta – The fingers are folded
  • Rechita Hasta – The fingers are given movement
  • Punchita Hasta – The fingers are folded or moved or stretched
  • Apaveschita Hasta – The fingers are bent down
  • Prerita Hasta – The fingers are bent back or moved or stretched
  • Udveshtita Hasta – The fingers are held up
  • Vyavrutta Hasta – The fingers are held up to the sides
  • Parivrutta Hasta – The fingers are brought together from the sides
  • Sanketa Hasta – The fingers are used to convey implied meanings
  • Chinha Hasta – The fingers are used to show things which are visible and visible like a person’s appearance , mannerism’s, influence on others etc
  • Padarthatheekae – The fingers are used to show the word meanings

 

47 responses »

  1. I’m impressed, I must say. Rarely do I encounter a blog that’s both equally educative and engaging, and let me tell you, you have hit the nail on the head.
    The issue is something which too few men and women are speaking intelligently
    about. I am very happy that I found this during my search for something regarding this.

  2. Woah! I’m really loving the template/theme of this website.

    It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s hard to get
    that “perfect balance” between user friendliness and appearance.

    I must say you’ve done a superb job with this.
    Additionally, the blog loads super quick for me on Internet explorer.

    Excellent Blog!

  3. You are so cool! I do not suppose I’ve truly read through anything like this before.
    So good to find another person with a few unique thoughts on this topic.
    Really.. many thanks for starting this up.
    This site is one thing that is needed on the internet, someone with a little originality!

  4. This is the right site for anybody who wishes to find out about this topic.
    You understand so much its almost hard to argue with you (not that
    I really will need to…HaHa). You definitely put a fresh spin on a subject that has been discussed for many years.
    Great stuff, just wonderful!

  5. My brother suggested I would possibly like this web site.
    He was once totally right. This publish truly made my day.
    You can not consider just how so much time I had spent for this
    information! Thank you!

  6. I’ve been surfing on-line greater than three hours
    these days, yet I never discovered any attention-grabbing article like yours.
    It’s beautiful price sufficient for me. Personally, if all website owners and bloggers made excellent
    content material as you did, the internet can be a lot
    more useful than ever before.

  7. I’m extremely inspired along with your writing talents as neatly as with the
    structure to your blog. Is this a paid topic or did you customize it yourself?
    Either way keep up the excellent high quality writing, it is
    rare to see a great weblog like this one these days..

  8. Hello! Ɗo yoս kոow if thеy make any plugins to help with Search
    Eոgine Οptimizаtion? I’m trying to get my blog to rank
    for some targeted keywords but I’m nօt seeiոg very goiod results.
    If you kЬow of any ρlease sҺare. Thanks!

  9. Simply want to say your article is as astonishing.
    The clearness in your post is simply cool and i could assume
    you’re an expert on this subject. Fine with your permission allow me to grab your RSS feed
    to keep updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please carry on the rewarding work.

  10. We’re a bunch of volunteers and starting a brand new scheme in our community.
    Your site provided us with helpful info to work on.
    You have performed a formidable job and our entire community will likely be thankful to you.

  11. Have you ever thought about including a little bit more than just your articles?

    I mean, what you say is fundamental and everything.
    But imagine if you added some great images or videos to give your posts more, “pop”!
    Your content is excellent but with images and video clips, this website could
    definitely be one of the best in its field. Awesome blog!

  12. A person essentially lend a hand to make seriously articles I’d state.

    This is the first time I frequented your website page and to this point?
    I amazed with the research you made to make this particular submit extraordinary.

    Fantastic job!

  13. Greetings from Colorado! I’m bored at work so I decided to browse your website on my iphone during lunch break.
    I really like the knowledge you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home.
    I’m shocked at how quick your blog loaded on my cell phone ..
    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, fantastic blog!

  14. Magnificent beat ! I would like to apprentice while you
    amend your site, how could i subscribe for a blog site?

    The account helped me a acceptable deal. I had been tiny bit
    acquainted of this your broadcast provided bright clear concept

Leave a Reply

